Skip to main content

Philip Glass and Doris Lessing Collection

Identifier: MS 111


The collection includes a copy of the opera score for The Making of the Representative for Planet 8 signed by composer Philip Glass and librettist Doris Lessing, a synopsis of the opera, correspondence, and a manuscript of the libretto annotated by Lessing. Printed material in the collection includes a copy of the novel, the libretto, and a June 1988 issue of Performing Arts Magazine dedicated to the opera’s premiere at the Houston Grand Opera. The collection also includes a signed photograph of Philip Glass and Doris Lessing.


  • Other: Date Not Yet Determined


Historical Sketch

In 1988, renowned composer Philip Glass collaborated with Nobel Prize winning author Doris Lessing to adapt her 1982 science fiction novel, The Making of the Representative for Planet Eight, into an opera. Glass composed the score, and Lessing wrote the libretto. The opera was co-commissioned by the English National Opera, Houston Grand Opera, Het Muziektheater, Amsterdam, and Theater Kiel. It premiered at the Houston Grand Opera on July 8, 1988. The mystical three-act opera tells the story of Planet 8, a once peaceful and prosperous world, as it drifts into an ice age that will destroy all life. Guided by their Canopian leader, Johor, the people of Planet 8 come to accept their fate and merge into one collective soul that survives physical destruction. The Making of the Representative for Planet Eight was the fourth novel in Lessing’s acclaimed The Canopus in Argos: Archives series.


0.5 Linear feet

Language of Materials



Transferred from the Mary Couts Burnett Library cataloging department in 2013.
Language of description
Script of description
Code for undetermined script

Repository Details

Part of the Archives and Special Collections, Mary Couts Burnett Library Repository

TCU Box 298400
2800 S. University Drive
Fort Worth, Texas 76129-0001
Fort Worth Texas 76129
(817) 257-4566
(817) 257-7282 (Fax)